Portrait of a Young Man

This portrait is on a 2 ‘ by 2 ‘ canvas and it’s executed in acrylic. It’s a very personal piece as it’s a portrait of my son. Many of the decisions I made, from composition to lighting, came about for very specific reasons. Several years ago he came home from school for a month to recover from surgery to correct a life threatening medical condition. We all have a number of “befores and afters” in life and this was a very significant one for him (and for all our family). Here I’ve set him alone against an ambiguous background. There’s a source of light behind but his face is cast in partial shadow. He doesn’t gaze out of the canvas but inward, caught up in his own thoughts.

 

Portrait of a young man

 

 

5 Comments

  1. What sensitivity you have used in defining this young man’s expression and form! He is very appealing as you have portrayed him! And thanks so much for your poking around my portraits and projects and adding your likes! That means a lot to me!

    Like

    Reply

    1. Thank you for your feedback Carol. It’s always good to interact with another artist. I know I don’t swing by often but when I do I really enjoy what I see happening with your work on your site. Your line technique is spot on and you seem to capture the spirit of your models beautifully!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

