Docked at Port Burwell

I spend so much time sitting it’s nice to hit the road with my sketchbook and see what I can find. This piece was an interesting little experiment. The original outline was done, I believe, almost 2 years ago. I had headed out along the lake shore and ended up in Port Burwell. I wasn’t able to finish the sketch onsite as it was a really windy day. I took a picture so I’d have a resource to use later. Fast forward to a week ago when I came across the unfinished sketch and decided to complete it. My first problem was that I no longer knew where the original picture file was . I have a large amount of digital images that aren’t particularly well organized. It’s an issue for me with using a digital camera. It’s easy to shoot so many pictures, that I can’t remember half the time what’s on my computer. When I shot and developed my own film I certainly took a lot more care with my images.  Anyhow I was able to find an image on-line to use which was very fortuitous. What made things a little sticky was the angles that I had already roughed in with pencil and started to work in ink weren’t exactly in-line with those in the found photo.  I ended up having to do some fudging and the perspective has a “folksy” thing going on. I made sure not to overwork the image to keep with the original intent of an onsite piece. Even though I had to complete it in studio, using an alternative image resource, I think it still retains the immediacy that was established as the composition foundation at the Port Burwell pier.

J.P. Siddall, Port Burwell

4 Comments

    1. Thank you for stopping by my blog Carol. I know what you mean about the contrast. I recently had to upgrade my computer (XP to 8.1) and unfortunately my image editing software doesn’t work on my new OS. I did a quick clean up on this in Windows picture gallery but it’s only reasonably close to the actual levels. Hopefully I’ll get something sorted out soon!! Thanks again for your visit and your feedback =)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

