Untitled Series First Interpretation

For my first interpretation I chose pigment and ink on cotton rag paper (Arches cold press). I began with pigment liners but found they didn’t give the depth I required. I wanted to recreate an etching aesthetic without  the plate and the press (another reason I chose the Arches cold press as it was similar to paper I had used before for etching- just a little heavier). Mixing pen and ink with the pigment liner was a clearer realization of the proposed process. The drawing is a section of the original photograph concentrating on the buildings. Rather than creating a texture-less sky as depicted in the original photo I chose rough crosshatching to communicate both the gloom of the impeding storm as well as the chaos of the wind that swept it in.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

